Skip to content

Assignment: 15 Film Quotes – Updated with Answers

March 31, 2008

via Darkneuro, etc.

Pick 15 favorite movies…
Go to IMDB and find a quote for each movie…
Post the representative quotes (NO google, no searches. Please. Takes away the love)…
Fill in the film title once it’s guessed. (In my case, I am hotlinking the films once they are answered properly.)

For my participant’s benefit, I’ve taken a couple of extra steps. A) I’ve kept them to a single speaker, and avoided dialogues entirely, and B) I have tried to make them fairly quotable and not simple random lines.

Note that a couple of these come from movies that have been re-made. Indicate which version for extra credit. . .

Good Luck!

1. Why is it that a woman always thinks that the most savage thing she can say to a man is to impugn his cocksmanship?”

2. “A New Mexico woman was named Final Arbiter of Taste & Justice today, ending God’s lengthy search for someone to straighten this country out. Eileen Harriet Palglace will have final say on every known subject, including who should be put to death, what clothes everyone should wear, what movies suck, and whether bald men who grow ponytails should still get laid.”

3. “Ah. Well… I attended Juilliard… I’m a graduate of the Harvard business school. I travel quite extensively. I lived through the Black Plague and had a pretty good time during that. I’ve seen the EXORCIST ABOUT A HUNDRED AND SIXTY-SEVEN TIMES, AND IT KEEPS GETTING FUNNIER EVERY SINGLE TIME I SEE IT… NOT TO MENTION THE FACT THAT YOU’RE TALKING TO A DEAD GUY… NOW WHAT DO YOU THINK? You think I’m qualified?”

4. “He said war was too important to be left to the generals. When he said that, 50 years ago, he might have been right. But today, war is too important to be left to politicians. They have neither the time, the training, nor the inclination for strategic thought. I can no longer sit back and allow Communist infiltration, Communist indoctrination, Communist subversion and the international Communist conspiracy to sap and impurify all of our precious bodily fluids.”

5. “Bob, I want all my Garmonbozia.”

6. “We get caught laundering money, we’re not going to white-collar resort prison. No, no, no. We’re going to federal POUND ME IN THE ASS prison.”

7. “The light that burns twice as bright burns half as long – and you have burned so very, very brightly, Roy.”

8. “Look Dave, I can see you’re really upset about this. I honestly think you ought to sit down calmly, take a stress pill, and think things over.”

9. Friends, you shall drip rubies. You’ll soon drip precious rubies. . .”

10. “Our bodies are prisons for our souls. Our skin and blood, the iron bars of confinement. But fear not. All flesh decays. Death turns all to ash. And thus, death frees every soul.”

11. I picked you for the job, not because I think you’re so darn smart, but because I thought you were a shade less dumb than the rest of the outfit. Guess I was wrong. You’re not smarter, Walter… you’re just a little taller.”

12. “It’s my wedding present to him, but the way he wears it, you’d think it was a noose around his neck.”

13. “How shall we fuck off, O Lord?”

14. “It’s a terrible thing to hate your mother. But I didn’t always hate her. When I was a child, I only kind of disliked her.”

15. “Are you righteous? Kind? Does your confidence lie in this? Are you loved by all? Know that I was, too. Do you imagine your suffering will be any less because you loved goodness and truth?”

technorati tags:, ,,

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2008 3:05 pm

    Thanks for playing! Right off the bat…
    #8. 2001:A Space Odyssey
    #13. Life of Brian.

  2. March 31, 2008 4:07 pm

    Absolutely! And absolutely correct!

    Well done. Stop by anytime. . .

    –D.

  3. March 31, 2008 11:24 pm

    4. Dr. Strangelove
    6. Office Space

  4. March 31, 2008 11:25 pm

    Oh!

    7. Bladerunner

  5. April 1, 2008 5:38 am

    Good Morning Darshan,

    #3 Beetlejuice

  6. April 1, 2008 8:25 am

    Well done Karl and Ray!

    All of the above are correct. Congratulations and thanks for stopping by!

    Best,

    –D.

  7. April 6, 2008 10:57 am

    To all who participated, I’ve updated the remaining quotes with their answers!

Leave a Reply

